When I Last Saw Jean-Luc

     This morning I received a phone call from my friend Jean-Luc Nash’s West Point class mate, Don Mooney. Don was given the unenviable task of telling me that Jean-Luc had passed away at his home in Pensacola last night.  Those of you who know my story, know about Jean-Luc and Tim Andruss and their heroic efforts on the battlefield during Operation Urgent Fury on that October afternoon in 1983, in the wake of a misdirected air strike that hit the Second Brigade Tactical Operations Center (TOC) for the 82nd Airborne Division.

 

I know a lot about the depths of desperation and despair and loss, but, nothing in my life has compared to the absolute sense of loss of this great giant of a man. There is a hole in the world and there is a hole in the depths of my heart.  Superlatives pale in comparison to the magnitude of the greatness that was Jean-Luc Nash. I did not know him before we invaded Grenada on October 25th 1983.  There has not been a day that has passed since then that I have not thought of him.  What transpired on that bloody battleground was more than lives (my own included) being saved.  One cannot truly understand the depths of true brotherhood until one has shared the absolute intensities and desperations and depravations of warfare.  Jean-Luc Nash did more than make it possible for me to have a chance at surviving that day. He gave me countless opportunities.

 

The last time I saw Jean-Luc was in September when we spent a few days with him and his wife Michele at their home in Pensacola, Florida.  We were on our way to Disneyworld for the first time and we had our granddaughter Maia along with us for the three week trip.  Miss Maia was particularly smitten by Jean-Luc and he with her.  Jean-Luc and Michele had a little girl’s tricycle that he kept in the garage for their grandkids.  Maia would ride her “bike” up and down the driveway at the house there in Pensacola.  Maia’s second favorite activity was gathering up all the acorns and placing them in the basket of the tricycle to plant to make “baby trees.”  Jean-Luc, being Jean-Luc, played gracefully along. He was like that. He was always accommodating, and, he always had time for the soft cuddly tyranny of a toddler’s whims and fancies.

20150930_105929

 

 

I remember taking this picture on my phone camera and thinking then how poignant it was.  I also remember thinking how he—Jean-Luc—had made this scene possible. Without me surviving that dreadful day in Grenada in 1983, there would have never been the possibility or the opportunity to share this quiet reflective moment in Pensacola 32 years later. Yeah, you made it possible big guy! You made so much possible. I had hoped to have more scenes like this to share with you before you left this world too soon. And now, you are gone.  I will forever reach out to you and the memory of who you were and seek to be worthy of the faith you had in my life.

 

Godspeed my friend. “And flights of angels sing thee to thy rest. “

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hardcoreharry.wordpress.com/2016/03/13/when-i-last-saw-jean-luc/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My heart is saddened for you Harry, but what a great man he must have been. Our family sends our love and condolences to you and yours. Peace be with you.

  2. Hi there, I’m Jean Luc’s cousin, Christine. I’d love to hear more about Jean Luc’s military successes if you’re willing to share. We’ll definitely miss him. Thank you for your service.

  3. Such an epitaph- and an exclamation.

    My Classmate, Don, stating the all-to-hard-truths sublime joys about we few, we Band of Brothers. Grip Hands…..

  4. Grip Hands, though it be from the Shadows…

  5. Well said, Harry.

  6. […] Special Forces Officer, 82nd Airborne Commander; was stationed in Korea and Germany; saved a paratrooper’s life in Grenada; participated in the Invasion of Kuwait; spent time in Chad, Sudan and Niger.  He […]

  7. […] Special Forces Officer, 82nd Airborne Commander; was stationed in Korea and Germany; saved a paratrooper’s life in Grenada; participated in the Invasion of Kuwait; spent time in Chad, Sudan and Niger. He was a […]


Leave a Reply

